Martis Camp – The New Mountain Home Style?

I’ve been working in North Lake Tahoe for a while now, for Kelly and Stone Architects, and one thing that strikes me about living here is the progressive direction mountain home design is heading. When you imagine a Mountain home (ie a ski cabin or lake house) what do you think of? Does it look like one of these…

Traditional Log home

traditional mountain cabin – Ryan Group Architects

Traditional Lake House – Smith and Vansant Architects

Here in Martis Camp however, where most of the projects I am working on are located, they are pushing a more modern aesthetic. Many of the homes here, which are predominately second homes, are mixing in more materials, typically combining steel panel, mixed color barn wood, clear cedar siding, stone, and board formed concrete. My first time in Martis Camp, I was surprised at the modern aesthetic of most of the houses. I have to say, if this is where the “mountain home style” is headed, I’m excited to see what else is in store.

Curved roofs are becoming popular Martis Camp Lot 371 by Kelly and Stone Architects

The developers who are running Martis Camp right now, the DMB/Highlands Group, are doing a great job with the review process. Each project in Martis goes through a preliminary and final design submittal, where each project is examined by the development team to ensure the desired quality and aesthetics are being carried out. Martis Camp is also not for the faint of heart – lots are typically in the million dollar range, and the most of the components are custom – no Home Depot parts here!

Flat roofs on Martis Camp Lot 82 – Sandbox Studios

Corten Steel panels and traditional stone on Martis Camp Lot 97 – Ward Young Architecture and Planning

One thing that has impressed me in Martis Camp is the level of detail put into every single project. Many houses have exposed steel and wood structure with interesting connections, really showing the viewer how the house is being held up. In traditional mountain homes there is often exposed structure, but it is refreshing to see exposed steel and glulam wood beams.

Modern interiors with floor to ceiling glass and steel accents Martis Camp Lot 236 – Sagemodern

Multiple materials on the same facade Martis Camp Lot 219 – Sagemodern

Mixed material use, and exposed steel structure Martis Camp lot 197 – Ward Young Architecture and Planning

Statement entries with timber detailing Martis Camp lot 236 – Kelly and Stone Architects

2 thoughts on “Martis Camp – The New Mountain Home Style?

  1. Hey Sophia,

    We met a couple years ago in Palo Alto when I was still an Oiselle ambassador. I’ve since dialed back my running but I’m still a fan of he company and still keep tabs on some of the fine lady birds I had the privilege of meeting from Oiselleteam. I love your blog. This one in particular was very interesting since we have a home in Tahoe Donner. So I’m getting ready to head up there for the summer and was wondering if you are up there too this summer? If so let’s get together for a trail run sometime! Let me know. My number is below. I’ll be up from this weekend through Aug 15.

    Hope all’s well! Tita

    415 867 0684 Sent via iPhone

    >

Leave a comment